How I Remember Things

I’ve been lucky in life. To steal a thought that I can dwell on for a while, “I’ve been so many places, in my life and time”. When I recall situations gone by, they seem to have their meaning as part of a surprising curiosity or casual conversation or the sensation of an embrace. Memories are caught up in that sort of moment, an animation with me involved. That is how I remember things. There are very few things, of any special gravity, that I’ve done alone.                                 

                                 “I love you for my life. You are a friend of mine.”                                               Leon Russell & Friends (1971)                                                      A Song for You

.                                                         youtu.be/37dw2r45Xzg

An old high school friend is dying. A lot of who I am came about while doing things with him. For me, he was a guide, when I didn’t know where I was. Bon voyage, Peen. The stories, legend at times, will be around a while. My children know some of them and I will start telling my grandchildren, they are old enough for some of them now.

About jackdetate

Married, 2 children, retired, enjoying unstructured time: "And then he drank a dew From a convenient grass, And then hopped sidewise to the wall To let a beetle pass." ~ Emily Dickinson
This entry was posted in Socio- economics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

